Collagraphs

I have been making collagraphs from materials collected on my coastal walks – seaweed gives marvellous abstract marks when pressed into the plaster base – these are a couple of the latest printed to the torn edges of the paper (Fabriano Rosapina) . The first one was only partially inked and I’ve made a sequence of these ending up with a print from a completely inked plate (the second image)

Image

Coastal walk – partially inked plate with embossing

Image

Coastal walk – collagraph sequence

I feel that this image captures the rhythm of the walk especially when 6 are displayed horizontally as a sequence.

Image

Coastal walk – collagraph

In the third image, above, the print is made from 2 plates – one using some sand (printed first) and the other using a large seaweed strand – I am now experimenting with introducing some minimal colour. I have also experimented printing on dry paper but this has lost the rich texture of the image. The collagraphs are 62 x 22 cms. Some of the less successful prints will be torn into smaller prints, like the ones in my last post,  and be displayed as ‘path fragments’. It has become rather obsessive!

2 comments
  1. karen howse said:

    Hi Rosie, I really like your latest collograph prints. They do have a rhythm of walking about them. I also like the idea of imprint in my own practice. Reminds me of footprints and impressions. Keep going!

  2. Thanks Karen – it’s always great to get feedback – it was lovely to see you last week and look forward to ‘walking’ and drawing with you in June!

Leave a Reply

